Underrated coping skill: card stores

This is the second post in the Grey Thinking series, Five of the most underrated coping skills.

I don’t know why more people don’t hang out in card stores.  Just think about it… when you have a friend that’s upset, it’s not uncommon to send them some kind of “cheer up / feel better” card.  So, if you’re upset… doesn’t it just make sense to spend an hour in a card shop and read 100 of those?

I know that there is more to getting cards than the card itself (say… the thought behind it), but funny cards make people feel better.  I scan the aisles at Barnes & Noble nearly weekly for new stickmen cards and can’t help but laugh at Hoops & Yoyo.  Card stores are just a win-win for everyone.

Picture 6

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Underrated coping skill: card stores”

  1. datagirl Says:

    I love the mind map for the card store coping skill!!

  2. Shirley Says:

    Sadly this doesn’t work for me … I end up getting upset over the cards that I won’t ever have someone to send to, and the cards that nobody will ever send to me. Sigh.

  3. greythinking Says:

    datagirl – Thanks! I have a think for flow charts 🙂

    Shirley – I can see how that would be upsetting. I guess card stores aren’t for everyone.

  4. imaginenamaste Says:

    I got a few of those motivational saying cards and now have them in my calendar binder to remind me of the quote on the front. I love having a reason to send cards just to make someone smile 🙂

  5. Now is Now Says:

    I can never just run in and buy a card. I end up reading ALL of the cards and laughing my head off. I LOVE the freshink cards (the ones that are square – not rectangle).

  6. BL Says:

    I am going to expand this beyond card stores and say that I love bookstores in general – both the card section and all the other sections. Right now being in the card section makes me kind of depressed because I want to buy lots of cards to send to friends but I don’t have any money to do so, and I end up feeling like a bad friend because others have recently sent me a lot of cards and I can’t return the favor 😦

    I do find comfort however, in bookstores. I love finding a few random books/magazines, going to the cafe to get coffee, and sitting and reading for a few hours. I especially love the self help section 🙂

  7. Bella Says:

    You know what I like even better? Buying cards to send to people. Friends who are struggling — friends who are far away — friends who you just want to send cards to. And writing nice little messages inside, or putting in positive quotes / stickers / whatever. Makes me feel good AND makes the other person feel good. 🙂

Leave a comment